top of page

The Hall

“The windows are the eyes”

The central hall was designed for welcoming and entertainment.  The hall served as the reception, snooker room and a sitting room.
The impressive full height bay window commands stunning views over Windermere and allows the wonderful light in, so often seen in Arts and Crafts properties. Voysey wrote that, "the windows are the eyes, through which we may see the beauties that are 

Photo by Rupert Potter in 1909

The original billiard ball cupboard can be seen by the circular window and cue holder by the stairs.  The two grotesques carved into the beams seem to be an amusing caricature of Arthur Currer-Briggs scrutinising us all!  The galleried landing windows give us an opportunity to view the activities below.

Carved corbel caricatures below the minstrel gallery
The Hall in 1904 (re-coloured photograph)

Interior images taken by Rupert Potter, father of Beatrix, give us an idea as to how the Hall was used in the early 1900s.  On one side there was a cosy seating area around the inglenook fireplace whose mantel held various pewter tankards and chargers.  Opposite the fireplace was a billiard table with six hanging lamps and overlooked by a charming “porthole“ window, one of Voysey’s typical design features.

The Hall Honors Board c. 1974 (recoloured)

Around the walls, you will see examples of the Heritage of Motor Boat Racing.  WMBRC took ownership of Broad Leys in 1950. The Hall continues to provide a unique venue for dinner dances and entertainment for all ages throughout the year.

The hall fireplace in 1900s
The Hall today
The Currer-Briggs
The Drawing Room
bottom of page